Subscribe

Join the Macyswim mailing list and receive email notifications about new blog posts.

Blog Categories

It all started with an email

September 12, 2011

This weekend I was just hanging out after my long training sessions making a plan of attack on how much of Mama Vera’s homemade spaghetti sauce when I received a few strange emails.  First was one that went like this “This looks so cool!  You must be so excited.”  I found this odd as I wasn’t exactly sure what it was referencing.  I hadn’t done anything particularly noteworthy to date except ordering that 9am post training burger.

SIDE NOTE: I spend most of the week working on the computer, so I try to spend my weekends away from technology.  I know I shouldn’t as this would be the prime time to update my blog, photos, etc.  But if I did that when would I get to Mama Vera’s sauce? or loads of training? 

Ok back to the email.  Then I noticed another email with the subject line “I will be very complimentary.” from one of my swimming mentors.  Now things seemed really odd.  I thought further investigation should be conducted.  I set aside the tomatoes and garlic and booted up my computer.  It suddenly became clear what all the fuss was about.  Open Water Source is doing a webinar regarding Women in the Water and low and behold my name was listed!  Weird, exciting, odd, humbling, etc all at the same time.  After reading about what looks to be an amazing webinar, I was up to speed.

Tune in Saturday 17th – 2pm PST/4pm CST/5pm EST/10pm London time. Here are the details: http://www.dailynewsofopenwaterswimming.com/2011/09/women-in-water-why-they-are-wonderful.html

Honestly based on the women that are listed from Penny Palfrey and Diana Nyad – LONG distance pioneers to 5k and 10k Olympians,  I think the hour will go very fast.   Also based on the listed company, I’m sure that any mention of me will be quick.  Don’t get me wrong any mention at all is pretty fricking amazing, so I’m very excited and honored to be included. 

I know that I’ll be tuning in to see what they say.  Heck it may even require another weekend boot of the computer to share my post webinar thoughts.  OH GEEZ, the pressure 🙂

By the way, Mama Vera’s sauce turned out very well and should help aid in my carbo loading obsessions.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “It all started with an email”

  1. Joni Johnston says:

    That’s great Michelle! It will be interesting to see what they have to say.

Leave a Reply